Soy milk maker helps gettimg milk from the nature - backgroud picture showing soybean and wheat field
Home  Soy+Health Products
Reviews
Ordering
Shipping
Testimonials
Recipes
Contact us

SoyaPower Plus Soy Milk Maker has The Best User Reviews

  The SoyaPower Soy Milk Maker is the most reviewed soy milk makers and the only one with an average of 5-Star as of July 3, 2011. It is also in the Top-10 list of best small kitchen appliances. It is actually the 6th in the Top-10 list, together with KitchenAid KSM150PSMC Artisan Series 5-Quart Mixer, and Zojirushi NS-LAC05 Micom 3-Cup Rice Cooker. Not a single other soy milk maker is even in the Top-100 list!


Below are some of the reviews from Amazon customers. The newest reviews are at the bottom of this page.

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars The SoyaPower Plus is the best soy milk maker I have used!, June 1, 2009
By  David (Long Island, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: SoyaPower Plus Milk Maker, rice milk maker, soup maker
We had used a SoyaJoy for over five years. We loved the machine and used it at least twice a week. Because of the heavy use, we feared that it would stop working any day so we wanted to get a new one. When searching online for a new one, I was surprised to find so many brands and choices. Five or six years ago, there was only a few to choose from, and SoyaJoy was almost the default choice (and the right choice for us). After much research, I bought the SoyaPower plus.

My wife questioned why spending $60 more than getting another SoyaJoy. Boy! I told her WHY after only two tries! It is easier to use and clean! It is easier to load soybean, less noisy, safer with the plastic cover on the stainless pitcher...... As good as advertised. I read the long review by the "average person" before the purchase. I trusted his review more because it pointed out both pros and cons. After a few weeks of uses, I am going to give it a five-star! Why? It exceeded my expectations! It is more versatile, can make non-dairy milks from beans, rice, grains, and seeds (I have tried a few types so far). The machine looks and feels sturdy and strong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews  
Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No
 
Report this | Permalink

 

 
 
 
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars very pleased with product, April 2, 2009
By  grace (Indianapolis, IN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: SoyaPower Plus Milk Maker, rice milk maker, soup maker
I purchased this soy milk maker based on reviews I found on the internet. I ordered directly from the distributor and received in 2 days. Today I made a combination of soy beans 3/4, and 1/4 brown rice--total measure of 1/2 cup. I soaked both together for 10 hours prior to placing in machine. The end result was an excellent, smooth and flavorful drink. I blended some with a few dates making a nice hot beverage. The machine performed as expected and cleaned up in under 2 minutes. I would highly recommend this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews  
Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No
 
Report this | Permalink

 

 
 
 
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars My 2 cents on top of what has been already said, July 16, 2009
This review is from: SoyaPower Plus Milk Maker, rice milk maker, soup maker
This is the first time I'm using a soy milk machine. My friend recommended the SoyaJoy but when they came out with this I wanted to try it. I bought it directly from them so whatever I describe here is whatever came in the box from them. The first time I made the soy milk from the Laura beans sample they sent with the package and it smelled beany and strong. The instructions actually warned that it may have a metallic smell and to throw away the first batch if that happened. Well, I've been making soy milk since then and the smell/flavor is now milder. So I don't think it's the Laura beans, I think it was just the first batch. I experimented with different beans, rice and grains and had fun with the results. I do soak them first before I use them.
At first, I added 1/4 tsp salt and 1 TBSP of sugar (they recommend 3 TSBP of brown rice syrup) but now we drink it plain.
It comes with a wire mesh strainer but I also strain it a second time with cheesecloth because it is a little grainy to me. I don't use the plastic container it comes with for the straining because I wasn't sure about pouring hot liquid into a plastic container. I strain it straight into my own glass pitcher (for hot beverages).
Clean up is indeed easy, like cleaning a blender. If I leave it out too long though before washing it, it would take a little more muscle to scrub it, but so would anything that was left to dry out and cake up.
I buy my soy beans from a local organic store at around $1.75/pound. I think that means it costs me about 30-50 cents to make a batch comparable to a carton of soy milk that costs $2+ at the store. It makes less than 6 cups I would say. Maybe I'm not adding enough water, but usually I get more like 5 cups.
I have been able to use the okara (left over "pulp") from the soy beans in soups/stews and pasta sauces. My family thinks I've been adding cheese to the sauce! I use it like ricotta/parmesean cheese in some recipes and also make okara burgers. Nothing has gone to waste. I freeze whatever I don't use. Honestly, I didn't like using it in "cheesecake" recipes. I still prefer using tofu for that. But it has been fun overall using the okara for more savory recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews  
Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No
 
Report this | Permalink

 

 
 
 
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars The SoyaPower Plus is a great soy milk maker!, May 24, 2009
By  Doug Young (Michigan, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: SoyaPower Plus Milk Maker, rice milk maker, soup maker
I read through many online articles, reviews, and discussion forums and was convinced that the SoyaPower Plus is the right choice for me. I was ready to buy it directly from [...] when I found that it was listed at Amazon for a lower price. Average Person's review confirmed most of the "Positives" that I had read from other websites.

I have used the machine about a dozen times by now. It makes great soymilk! I really like the milks made with soybean and rice or oats. I followed the instruction on the user manual - use 3/4 cup of dry soybean and 1/4 cup of rice, soaked overnight; add water, drop the soaked soybean and rice into the machine pitcher, plug in the power, and press the "Soy + " button. It is that simple! I have tried three of the five recipes on the user manual, and got great soy milk every time!

The cleanup is fast and easy! That is the important thing to me because many reviews of other machines complained about difficulty of cleaning. So this is the big PLUS!

The plastic liner on the stainless pitcher does reduce the noise. The machine makes much less noise than a typical blender. The plastic cover is still warm to the touch but not hot enough to hurt. I can image that without the plastic liner, the stainless steel pitcher would be very hot with boiling soymilk inside.

I can confirm most of the positives "average person" listed in his review: filter-less for easy cleaning, the four functional settings for making different type of milks, the insulation liner for heat and noise reduction, the head and body clamps for safety, the foldable handle, and the preheating non-beany feature.

As for the Cons, I don't see many. The off-white color looks better to me than the white color. The fit of the plastics was the one I was most concerned after reading the reviews, but it is actually much better than I expected. I don't see any gaps on the machine head. There is a seam between the plastic outliner pieces, but that is no issue to me because I don't see what it can go wrong with it. I don't expect the finish of a Japanese piano anyway! The stainless pitcher with plastic outliner feels very sturdy and strong.

Overall, I am very happy with it. It is so simple to use, almost foolproof! I give it a five star!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews  
Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No
 
Report this | Permalink

 

 
 
 
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Product, Excellent Soy Milk (and Tofu!) Pays for Itself Fast, February 9, 2010
By  Maud (St. Louis, MO) - See all my reviews
This review is from: SoyaPower Plus Milk Maker, rice milk maker, soup maker
When I made my own tofu 25 or 30 years ago, it was a time consuming process involving stock pots and a commercial blender which resulted in a beany soy milk that made a beany tofu. This soy milk machine is my first automatic machine; I got it so that I could conveniently make organic soy milk and tofu from locally sourced soy beans. This machine is so easy to use and clean that I use it often.

The Soyapower Plus soy milk maker makes absolutely delicious soy milk, which in turn allows you to make absolutely delicious home made tofu. In the City of St. Louis we have wonderful tap water that doesn't need to be filtered, and as a result my soy milk tastes better than store-bought (although of course it is not thickened or sweetened.) I purchased the machine from the manufacturer's site in order to take advantage of the sample Laura non-GMO soy beans and the ability to purchase nigari and gypsum coagulants. In the first two months I have made both soy milk and tofu.

This machine makes soy milk in about 20 minutes, and (unlike my juicer) clean-up takes about two minutes. As other reviewers have noted, there is no on/off switch so it beeps annoyingly until you come to unplug it. It seems structurally sturdy although the latches seem flimsy and I wonder how they will hold up. Other than the Apple II color, these are the only flaws in an otherwise wonderful product.

The sound insulation of this soy milk maker really quiets the process. The initial sound is the water coming to a boil very rapidly. After several grinding cycles, it simmers the pulverized beans. The controls turn the blender on and off several times during the automatic cycle, so it's only loud occasionally. My cats don't even leave the kitchen.

I have so far made one batch of tofu, which requires two batches of soy milk, coagulated with nigari. This tofu was so different from the home made tofu I used to make so long ago! To use an analogy, if the tofu I used to make was full grain bread and today's silken grocery store tofu is white bread, the tofu made with the soy milk from the Soyapower Plus is artisan bread. The texture is light and fluffy but not silken, and the flavor is rich without being beany. It's delicious warm or cold.

So, as far as this automatic soy milk maker goes, it's the beginning of a beautiful friendship. At two batches per week, I figure it will pay for itself in less than six months.

Each batch of soy milk only requires 100 grams of soy beans, so you will get four and a half batches of soy milk from a pound (about 450 grams) of soy beans. If you pay a dollar sixty-nine for a pound of organic soy beans, each one point five liter batch will cost thirty-eight cents plus the cost of electricity, or about fifty cents per half gallon. Silk soy milk costs about four dollars for a half gallon, so in round numbers you save about three and a half dollars per half gallon of soy milk by making your own with the Soyapower Plus. That means this soy milk maker will pay for itself after about forty-five batches. If you make two batches per week, that means it pays for itself in less than six months...and that's not even factoring in the savings if you decide to make your own tofu.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews  
Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No
 
Report this | Permalink

 

 
 
 
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars First Useable Soymilk Machine, May 29, 2009
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SoyaPower Plus Milk Maker, rice milk maker, soup maker
Excellent machine and the new design makes such better soymilk than the ones with the filter basket. This machine makes a thick rich product which is more like store bought than the other machines I've tried. I've owned the older version of the SoyaPower machine for years and it is a reliable quality product. This is a well built quality machine. I also like the insulated case, very nice! Great product and highly recommended. This machine is very convenient and is the first one I have used (of several owned) that makes a commercial quality soymilk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews  
Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No
 
Report this | Permalink

 

 
 
 
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars FINALLY A PRODUCT THAT DOES WHAT IT SAYS!!, January 17, 2010
By  Farrier Mom (Spokane WA) - See all my reviews
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SoyaPower Plus Milk Maker, rice milk maker, soup maker
We shopped soymilk makers for almost a year before deciding on this machine. We are so glad we did. It makes soymilk wonderfully that tastes great. It is EASY to clean. It is very economical. It is exceptionally efficient and versatile. We wanted to find a soymilk maker that could be used with almonds, cashews, garbanzo beans, mung beans, rice and more. We found that with this machine. The beautiful thing is it does it for you. Just push one button and you have milk in about 15 min. Two suggestions: One, by a Vita Mix to go with it. We make the milk, pour it directly into our Vita Mix and then mix whatever fruit or sweetener we want to use. Two, clean the machine right after use. That suggestion is common sense if you use anything stainless steel to cook with- otherwise things stick rather well to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews  
Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No
 
Report this | Permalink

 

 
 
 
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars If a Woman Can Love a Machine, June 5, 2009
This review is from: SoyaPower Plus Milk Maker, rice milk maker, soup maker
If a woman can love a machine, I love my SoyaPower Plus Soymilk Maker. I had been buying commercial organic soymilk for years, always running out, always feeling guilty for throwing all those cartons in the trash. So I decided to investigate buying a maker. Wendy Wang was very helpful in answering all my questions via email. I knew what to expect when my machine arrived and I was already comfortable with it.

The instructions were easy to follow and it's so easy to use with very few steps. In about 15 minutes it's ready and the clean-up is also easy. It's quiet, too, and I like that it is stainless steel.

I still am amazed how less than a cup of soybeans can produce such a flavorful, rich, and smooth drink. While it's still hot I add about 2T. of honey, 1/2t. sea salt, and 1/4 t. of almond extract. I like the fresh taste, hot or cold.

My husband makes fruit smoothies with soymilk for breakfast and I drink 8oz every afternoon at work to ward off hunger till dinnertime. Also I have been making dog biscuits with the okara by adding flour, egg, and peanut butter, a little olive oil. They like them and it sure saves money and packaging.

I don't want to do the math, but I know my SoyPower will pay for itself before long. The recession has certainly stimulated me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews  
Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No
 
Report this | Permalink

 
94 of 94 people found the following review helpful:
4.0 out of 5 stars Works great, not white, could use some refinement in fit & finish for this price., April 14, 2009
By  V. H Lok "Average Person" (San Francisco, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SoyaPower Plus Milk Maker, rice milk maker, soup maker
There are very few reviews of this machine online, probably because it is so new, and there are many reviews of it's main competitor (the OTHER filterless soy milk maker!)

I've made soy milk by hand before, it's tiring and requires your attention at all times to prevent boilovers. This machine make it extremely easy. Soak the beans for a few hours, then put them in the machine with water and press the button..Voila!

What you get:
- Pitcher, this is where it is cooked, it has a non-removable plastic covering that dampens sound and insulates the heat.
- Head unit, this has the blending blades, the heating element and the electronics. It clamps down to the pitcher
- A plastic pitcher, this is where you would pour the soymilk from the cooking pitcher into to filter it
- A sieve/filter with a handle. You put this over your plastic pitcher and then pour the soy milk form the cooking pitcher into it to filer out the "Okara" (soy pulp). Sort of cheap, but it does the job. I suggest you invest in a $5 "gold coffee filter" that is used instead of paper coffee filters in coffee machines, the fine mesh of the coffee filter really gets out the tiny soy particles!
- A cleaning pad and a little brush. For cleaning, though you can just wipe it with a dishcloth.
- A recipe book. This actually looks more like a print out of a web page where people posted their recipes. In fact...I've seen the web page that this was printed from!
- Instructions. Bad English, but it's a simple machine and the instructions are clear enough.
- Power cord. This attaches to the head unit much like a computer power cable.
- A sample of "Laura" Soy Beans. I ordered like 20 lbs of these special Laura beans online...for about the same price that I can get soybeans from the local "Whole Foods" store. I didn't notice any difference at all, though the Laura Beans (I think they all come from one farm) are non GMO (not Genetically Modified Organisms), as I'm sure the Whole Foods bulk beans are, but don't specifically say. They give you enough beans to make two batches of soy milk.

The pro:
- It makes soymilk as advertised as well as giving options to make other drinks. There are 4 settings. The soymilk is as good as you'll get from any machine.

- Cleanup is fast and easy. Many people complain about the machines that use filters as the filter is hard to clean. This machine is basically a blender with heat. Once the drink is made, you unclip the head unit, run some cool water on it and brush/wipe it down. Pretty easy!

- The pitcher is somewhat insulated for heat and sound. The soymilk is HOT when it comes out, but the pitcher is covered with an insulating plastic covering so it won't burn you if you touch it. Also the sounds is muffled a bit so you can use it at night withough your kids waking up! The sound is less volume than a blender and lower frequency too so it's more of a rumble than a blending sound.

- The head unit clamps to the pitcher, so that helps with sound and probably helps with accidentally knocking the head off the pitcher.

- Handle on the head unit is sturdy and locks in the upward position, or folds down. This is very useful when cleaning. You can hold the head by the handle and run the dirty parts under water. When you put it away, you can just fold it down. I would not try and carry the unit full of water/soymilk by the handle though, use the side pitcher handle!

- It heats the water/beans BEFORE it starts grinding. This is a huge plus because apparently if you grind cold beans it will result in very "beany" tasting soymilk. Making soymilk by hand and grinding with hot water and then filtering is not pleasant...this machine does it for you!
Some cheaper machines may just grind the beans first and then heat the ground beans/water.

- It's filterless. This means you dump the beans and water into the main pitcher. You don't have to load up a little filter basket! This means you can add more beans if you like without being limited by the filter capacity. The cleanup is super easy too, though the step of filtering is done outside the machine when you pour the soy milk in the cooking pitcher though the supplied sieve into the supplied plastic pitcher.

Cons:
- The fit of the plastic is not exacly great. There were some gaps in some of the pieces, not what I'd expect for the price I paid. This does not affect the performance of the machine AT ALL, but I'm being honest here so I have to point this out.

- Mine was NOT WHITE, it was an off white colour, like the colour that white plastic gets if you set it in the sun for 5 years, that sort of yellowed colour. Sort of like an old APPLE II computer. This is not really a con, but be warned that the picture is not like what you will get, unless the distrubuter would like to comment on this.

- The pitcher on mine says Soya Power, and the head unit says "Soyapower Plus" so obviously they just put the new head units with whatever pitchers they have. Not a serious con, but weird.

- It ships from the distributer IN THE PRODUCT BOX, there is no enclosing shipping box. Mine came pretty banged up, which is the fault of the shipping company BUT it was not protected from such damage. I was happy to see the unit itself was not damaged, but it very well could have been since the box had holes in it and many dents. This is my biggest beef, though other reviews I've read have praised this as a feature as it uses less resources. This is true, and the unit is packed fairly well in the box, but it was a close call that nothing fell out of my damaged box.

Neither Pro nor Con:
- It has no on/off switch. You plug the power cable into the head unit then press one of the cycle buttons to start. When the cycle is done, it beeps until you unplug it! You will want to detach the power cable from the head anyway when you go to clean the head.


OK, so why did I choose this machine over the other HIGHLY RATED other brand "PREMIER" machine? Becuase it is insulated for sound and heat. I have twin babies that go to sleep around 8pm and the only time I have to make the soy milk (one of the kids has milk allergies, hence the need for lots of soymilk!) is after they go to bed. So I when I was making it by hand (to supplement the store bought stuff which was way too sweet or way too bland) I used a blender, but it was loud, plus since I had to filter the bean mash by hand, I didn't like to blend with hot water, for fear of breaking the blender's pitcher and because holding burning hot bean mash is not fun when you're trying to squeeze it. And as I mentioned, if you don't grind the beans in hot water, you get a lot of beany taste. (some mumbo jumbo about enzymes or something...look it up).

I was happy that the sound was a medium volume low rumble instead of the high pitched grinding sound from the blender. Also the plastic surrounding the steel cooking pitcher made it less perilous to touch.

The milk you get is the same taste/feel as any HOME MADE SOY MILK. It is NOT LIKE STORE BOUGHT! Though I'm trying some recipes I found online to make it a bit thicker. I noticed that the soymilk has a slight egg smell, which I like, but my wife hates. It's not intense, sort of like egg custard might smell like. Weird!

All in all, I think this is an excellent product. I wish mine were white instead of 1982 Apple II coloured, and I wish that the plastic trim was a bit better fitting, but these are minor details as the machine makes soymilk like it's supposed to and it is VERY EASY and the cleanup is almost trivial, unlike filter basket machines. I look forward to making other types of "milk" in it!

It would have five stars if it had more refined fit and finish, worthy of the price paid.

Please leave feedback!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews  
Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No
 
Report this | Permalink

 
Wendy Wang says:
 
First of all, thank you for the detailed review. Apparently you did a lot of researches before this purchase and rightfully have high expectations for spending $159.95 (I would too) !

update: Your comments have been most helpful to others. People trust your review because it is from an "Amazon Verified Purchase".

Update: we are glad that the SoyaPower performance met your high expectations from your comments after 30 days of use: "If I had to buy a soy maker again, I'd still buy this one. My only complaint again was all cosmetic. I think it is a great machine!"

Your detailed review deserve some comments:
1. Yes, the color of the machine is off white. The picture shows an off-white color but may not be 100% accurate to its true color due to lighting conditions when the picture was taken. We chose this color after many focus group studies. But we understand your would prefer a pure white color.

2. The SoyaPower Plus and the SoyaPower do use the same pitcher - made of one-piece seamless stainless steel with thermo-plastic outliner. The machine head is marked clearly with "SoyaPower Plus".

3. About the shipping package, you spoke and we listened! We have added double boxing for shipping and we have not had any issue after the change.

4. About the fit of the plastics - we added this plastic outliner to reduce noise and the temperature on outside surface of the pitcher (so it will not burn your hand when you touch it). The addition of this thermo-plastic outliner have received great reviews from users and reviewers who had used our SoyaJoy or other brands of soymilk makers. Up to date, SoyaPower and SoyaPower Plus are about the only soymilk makers with this heat and noise insulation/reduction feature that have gone through the UL approval process. Most all other soymilk makers still use naked stainless-steel pitcher. We do agree with you that you can see a slightly seam of the plastic outliner where the two pieces meet, but as you correctly pointed out, this doesn't affect the function nor the use of the machine in any way.

Again, thank you for such a detailed review. Wendy

In reply to an earlier post on May 19, 2009 9:56 PM PDT
V. H Lok says:
 
The plastic outliner was actually one of the selling points of this machine for me. I'm glad I chose it and I think the plastic outliner is excellent, I can feel how hot the latches get and the steel pitcher and I'm glad the plastic is there. My complaint was just that the fit of the plastics was a bit off on my machine. There were gaps where the plastic met. This might just be my particular machine. It also helps with the noise I think, but I haven't used another soy machine to compare it to. I had been using a blender to make soy milk and it is very high pitched, the soyapower plus is not unpleasantly loud or high pitched.

My shipping box had a hole in it, it was beaten up by UPS, but as I mentioned, the contents survived without damage.

I have very little complaints about the machine, I've made soy milk with it almost every other day since I got it. I use the soymilk to make soy yogurt and also to make soy milk for my daughters (one of which is allergic to milk).

If I had to buy a soy maker again, I'd still buy this one. My only complaint again was all cosmetic. I think it is a great machine!

 
 
 
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars It's so neat to be able to make my own milk!, February 20, 2010
By  Cherub (Oxford Ohio) - See all my reviews
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SoyaPower Plus Milk Maker, rice milk maker, soup maker
This is a great soy milk maker. It is very heavy, durable, and easy to use. I love that I can make my own milk and not have to go to the store for it. My youngest daughter loves the milk warm right after I make it. The milk smells "beany" when it is warm but tastes really good. I am still working out my "perfect recipe" but all that I have tried have been good. The Milk comes out as a pretty off-white color. I don't feel like I need to strain the milk anymore than I do already with the strainer it came with. It is really easy to clean if you clean it right away, otherwise it takes a little more scrubbing, but it is still not all that hard to clean. I recomend this soy milk maker to whoever wants an economic, healthy alternative to store bought milk/soymilk.
 
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent kitchen gadgets, February 1, 2010
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SoyaPower Plus Milk Maker, rice milk maker, soup maker
I wanted soy milk maker for a long time. My daughter likes to drink it. We bought Silk brand from Costco. It's fine. But I don't like the sweet taste of Silk brand. My mom used to make it from scratch. After search, especially after reading reviews in Amazon, I decided to buy this model based on Farrier Mom's review since I wanted the machine not just makes soy milk, I wanted it can make all different nut milks too. Before I got it, my friends warned me about machine quality. She told me she bought one a few years ago. It violated all US electronic standard. But, this one is totally different. It is very well constructed and manufacture did pay attention to little thing. It is very quiet (much quiet than my Blendtec Total Blender). I got it last Wed, arrived earlier than estimated time in my invoice. So far I made 3 batches, two for soy bean, one for almond. They came out great. I love the original soy milk taste, no sugar, no any other ingredients other than water and soy bean. I like to drink warm. My daughter like to drink cold. So far we are very happy with this machine.

I will try mix grains, nut next time. I bought a set of glass wares from Costco to store the leftover. One batch, with water between two line in the container, can last for about 2 days.

The package came with plastic pitcher, brush and strainer. Washing is not too difficult. My mother in law and sister in law came yesterday. They tasted my home made soy milk. They love it. I planned to order one for each of them for their birthday gift.

There is only one little thing confused me. In the instruction, it said add water in between two lines in the container. I expected these two lines are far distance apart. But it only has 0.5 inch apart. There is no picture in the instruction brochure showing the water lines and there is no words showing right next to the lines inside container. I just had to leap on my faith - try and error and see how it works. Thank God, it seemed work fine so far. I would suggest that manufacturer to make this more clear, add a picture in brochure, it will take out the confusion. Also, I would like to know what is the reason to add water in between two line. I went thru the recipes came with the package, nowhere mentioned that we need to use top line or lower line for water measurement. If so, I am just wondering why not just print one line there.

Anyway, this is still a very good machine. I highly recommend to people who want to have home made soy milks or any nut milks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews  
Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No
 
Report this | Permalink

 

 
 
 
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars Rinse the pre-soaked beans thoroughly before using, December 15, 2009
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SoyaPower Plus Milk Maker, rice milk maker, soup maker
Once I figured out to rinse off the nasty soak water (8 hr+soak time), the taste was fine. The more thoroughly that you rinse the soaked beans, the better. Before I started doing that, it tasted like unseasoned navy-bean soup. I got the idea from 'The Joy of Cooking', where they recommend sometimes discarding soak water for soups.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews  
Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No
 
Report this | Permalink

 

 
 
 
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Design!, October 21, 2009
This review is from: SoyaPower Plus Milk Maker, rice milk maker, soup maker
What a great machine! I use this thing almost every other day. Coming from an engineering background, I am impressed with the simple and elegant design, and can't imagine it could get any more "ergonomic." It's easy to use and to clean - and is well worth the extra $ for that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews  
Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No
 
Report this | Permalink

 

 
 
 
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars We call this our HEMP-plus milk machine!, February 22, 2010
By  M. Chrisman "countrysprout" (Southern Illinois) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SoyaPower Plus Milk Maker, rice milk maker, soup maker
Twenty years ago, we gave up dairy (AKA TCBMM- the country's best mucus maker) and switched over to "white gold" - soymilk - but it stung that the boxed quarts were the same price as a whole gallon jug of the cow's milk we left behind. Alas, soon soy has its own dark side - high TSH, enzyme inhibitors resulting in chronic amino acid and protein deficiencies, and estrogenic effects. Here we were, drinking soy milk and also eating all sorts of soy isolates - and health issues made us realize we humans are the only animal choosing to eat soy. Duh!

So we moved away from the claws of ADM into the arms of a much-maligned, but increasingly bright star, hemp seed. (According to [...], hemp seed is an amazing powerhouse of protein, similar to that of human blood, has all the necessary amino acids, "and the 3:1 ratio of omega-3 and omega-6 fatty acids our bodies need to be healthy. Hemp seeds also contain sufficient quantities of zinc, iron, and magnesium, three of the most common metals/minerals implicated in mineral deficiency diseases.")

Yes! Children of the 60's, we got hooked on hemp (THC free!) and enjoyed the seeds on salads, in smoothies, and over entrees. But we missed milk - and hemp milk, while tasty, cost twice as much as soy. I tried making hemp milk in a blender and with a nutmilk bag, but like soymilk, produced not so great milk for the effort - and cost - required. And then I chanced upon an an article describing the advances - and dropping prices - of alter-milk-making machines, such as the "Soyapower Plus" which included in its name its doubling as a "rice milk maker, nut milk maker". The price seemed fair - it promised six cups of milk from only half a cup of nuts or seeds. Now, every two days, I make at least one batch of hemp/oat milk from 1/2 cup Nutiva organic seed, also from Amazon, 1/4 cup OG rolled oats and 6 cups filtered H20. I add a tad of agave or rice syrup, a dash of salt, and a dribble of vanilla to create a rich creamy beverage. That adds up to $1 a quart compared to a retail of four bucks! Similar value is had from almond/walnut milk- about 50 cents/quart and rice milk is a steal at about 30 cents a quart. Here I am getting half again as much milk for half the price at the co-op!

Of course, they had me when it said SEVENTEEN minutes to "brew" a batch - and that part is true - I stopwatch-timed it! Cleanup is a cinch --- trust me, this is NOT your mother's milk making ritual - you just wash the steel pitcher and the mechanism and the strainer and the bowl --- well, okay it is work, but it is still quicker than driving to the store to BUY yet another box you then have to reuse or recycle.

So, yeah, if you're sitting on the fence about getting one of these machines, give it up - espesh if YOUR DBH also wants to catch up from all those years of deprivation of "who drank all the ___ milk?" We figure this machine will pay for itself in THREE TO FOUR months - If you make one batch just ten times a month (a total of 15 quarts), you will have "spent" about $7 to $10 for what would have cost you $30 to $40 at the store. Do the math, and then do the Amazon Prime shuffle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews  
Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No
 
Report this | Permalink

 

 
 
 
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars Really great appliance..., August 17, 2010
This review is from: SoyaPower Plus Milk Maker, rice milk maker, soup maker
I purchased this Soyapower Plus soy milk maker, rice milk maker, nut milk maker because in addition to soymilk, it may be used for almond milk and rice milk. Understand, the product produced at home is quite different from the ones in the grocery. The process is different, ingredients are different and the taste is different, and the ones on the shelves are produced for long-term storage. So do not expect this to be a miracle machine that makes milks that taste like the commercial ones. Do expect it to produce wholesome milks very inexpensively. However, your finished milks will not be any better than the ingredients you use. If you use old, stale or poorly stored nuts and grains, it will be reflected in the taste. As it turns out, I cannot use soymilk, but I love the almond and rice milks that I make with this appliance. They are great for smoothies, and for cooking. The byproduct,okara,is a wonderful addition to baked goods, oatmeal, pancakes, etc. I even add some to my meatball mix. YUM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews  
Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No
 
Report this | Permalink

 

 
 
 
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars Very pleased with this great soy milk maker, August 12, 2010
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SoyaPower Plus Milk Maker, rice milk maker, soup maker
I cost a long time to search a soy milk make. As I read through many online reviews and discussion, I think that the SoyaPower Plus is the right choice for me. This is the first time I'm buying a soy milk machine.
As I received this machine, I made the soy milk from the Laura beans sample they sent with the package. Yet, it makes absolutely delicious soybean milk. From them on, every day morning, the first thing is make a bottle of soybean milk for my family after I wake up. It's very easy to operate and after-use cleanup.
These days, when someone drink my delicious soy milk, I will not hesitate to recommend this SoyaPower Plus Milk Maker. I'll tell them good milk, good milk maker!
 
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews  
Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No
 
Report this | Permalink

 

 
 
 
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to use, works great, August 10, 2010
By  Katherine Durham (South Portland, Maine, US) - See all my reviews
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SoyaPower Plus Milk Maker, rice milk maker, soup maker
The SoyaPower Plus is a gadget well worth finding a space for it! Have only used soy beans so far, but plan to try rice and other ingredients. The flavor is very good, left alone or with a little vanilla and sugar or honey added. Easy to use, easy to clean. Saving money, no unwanted ingredients and it works very well with my food storage plan, which is more challenging without milk and other dairy products.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews  
Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No
 
Report this | Permalink

 

 
 
 
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars Machine itself is awesome, June 10, 2010
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SoyaPower Plus Milk Maker, rice milk maker, soup maker
No complaints about the machine itself. It looks nice, compact enough to store in the cabinet, easy to use, and does a great job automating almost the entire process. The only hands on part is straining the milk once the machine is all done. My only complaint, having absolutely nothing to do with the machine, is that there is going to be a good amount of trial and error to figure out the recipes. My first try was with Almonds. i followed the directions in the book exactly and got cloudy flavorless nut water. The water i had used to soak the almonds in probably had more flavor than what i got out of the machine. I don't blame the machine for that though. I blame inexperience. So much of this is individual preference for taste, texture, and thickness, that there's no one size fits all recipe. Next time i'm going to try it with less water to make it thicker, and i read online that oats can be added to thicken it up and make it a little creamier. Probably try adding some sugar too. Just the same, the machine itself rocks. Good buy.

update. First couple of batches using Soy Beans had a very strong egg smell. It was really gross. Whether it was the reason or not, i shortened the soak time from 6 hours to about 2 1/2 and the smell completely disappeared.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews  
Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No
 
Report this | Permalink

 

 
 
 
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
4.0 out of 5 stars Works well, June 6, 2010
By  Z. Marine (Wisconsin) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SoyaPower Plus Milk Maker, rice milk maker, soup maker
I've been using this for about two months, making around a gallon of soymilk a week. It works great for that, though the one time I tried to make oat milk it didn't really function, so if you plan on using it for things like that you might want to read other reviews; my experience might have been due to user error. The machine is easy to clean and easy to use, with the only detriments being that it is a bit loud, ugly, and the "hey your soymilk is done" beep is incessant and sounds like a ticking timebomb. Still, those are minor gripes and the key point is that it works and doesn't require a lot of head-scratching to fire up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews  
Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No
 
Report this | Permalink

 

 
 
 
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars Very satisfied with this machine, May 12, 2010
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SoyaPower Plus Milk Maker, rice milk maker, soup maker
Having been a vegan for thirty five years, and having reared six children, our family has consumed a lot of soymilk over the years. Many years ago I tried making my own in a large stainless pot, and just like everyone says, the most time consuming part of the process is waiting for the milk to come to a boil, then being right there to keep it from almost immediately boiling up and over onto the stove. This was in the days before aseptic soymilk was readily available, and certainly before the local grocery store offered it fresh. I was soon a convert to convenience, and we went through many cases of soymilk, unable to easily recycle the packaging.
When a friend sent me a link to the Sanalinx soymilk maker site, I knew I had to try one out.
The box came quickly by UPS (so be sure to use your house address with Amazon, not a P.O. Box), and my package was in a sturdy outer cardboard box which protected the inner box.
I opened it up, looked at the manual and recipe book, washed the machine parts, and soaked the small package of enclosed soybeans the night before. In the morning I rinsed the beans, added water between the raised fill lines in the lower part of the machine, added the beans, clamped on the top, having attached the volcano filter (which has holes big enough for soybeans to pass through, and which goes around the four sharp blades that do the grinding), plugged the power cord into the machine, then into the wall, and chose the Soybean selection button. Immediately the machine set to work. First it was very quiet, heating up the water. I got to work around the kitchen with some chores I had to do. Suddenly there was a grinding noise coming from the machine, and I looked nervously over at it, wondering if it was self destructing. Then it was quiet again. Then it ground the beans. This happened a few times, and the sudden noise can startle you at first, but soon you get used to it. It is muffled and not too obnoxious. Before I knew it (in under twenty minutes)the machine blinked and beeped to tell me it was finished. So soon! I unplugged the machine from the wall, then from the unit, and I unclamped it, which is easy to do, the fittings being somewhat loose, though not in a bad way, to my thinking. I poured the soymilk easily into the strainer over the plastic jug, and sprayed off the hot grinding unit with my dish sprayer. I set the heating elements into a large stainless bowl in my sink and let it fill up with water (not above the point where you aren't supposed to get the machine wet). This helps in future cleanup. I sprayed out the bottom section. At this point, if I were making several batches in a row (each produces a liter and a half)I would begin the process again. Otherwise, if you are finished making soymilk for the day, it will take a few short minutes to use the included scrub brush and cleaning pad to fine tune the cleanliness of the stainless mechanisms and wipe out the stainless inside of the bottom section. This was not a difficult chore, and does not detract from my enjoyment of my machine.
I flavor the milk in the plastic jug (a sprinkle of salt and some sweetener and vanilla helps my children like it better, though none of this is necessary) before pouring it into a clean glass jar. It is still hot at this point, so I let it sit out by the refrigerator to cool somewhat before refrigerating. If I were making just the liter and a half per morning (all one person or a small family would need), my work, including cleanup, would be done in half an hour, including a lot of free time to get some chores done. It is recommended you stick around while the machine is working, just in case. But there is lots to be done around the kitchen while it does all the hard work of making soymilk for you.
I am just amazed that I can get such good tasting soymilk in such quantities so easily. I am thrilled to no longer contribute packaging waste to the earth. I spent $120 on the machine and $55 on 50 pounds of soybeans which look like they will last me a very long time. We were spending at least $80 a month on soymilk, before. The machine will have paid for itself, the beans, and any flavorings in less than three months, and from then on the only cost will be my time and electricity usage (still to be determined), until I have to buy more soybeans in about a year. I got the machine with the two year guarantee. If it ever breaks, I am sure I will either get it fixed by Sanalinx, or purchase another, because I am very satisfied.
This is like a new hobby for me. I am enjoying trying out different bean/grain combinations. It will also make nut milk or hemp milk. I imagine it would make sesame and sunflower milk, too. This morning I will try the soy/quinoa one I made yesterday. If you hit on one nobody much likes (my first batch wasn't as popular), it is great to have a bunch to make pudding or a smoothie. Nobody is complaining, then! It has only been a week, and already my children have adjusted to this new kind of soymilk. They give me pointers on which kind they prefer, so I keep adjusting the next batch, as to mixtures I try out. I have tried to add calcium to the milk (being sure it is not calcium sulfate, which would make it turn into curds), but so far that hasn't been as successful for me. I need to work on that some more.
Be sure to try your soymilk cold the first time you let your family taste test it. The flavor is quite bland, then. When it is hot, you might think it will end up tasting beany--but it doesn't when it's cool.
Oh, and the whole family liked the soysage I made with the okara. It is good with spaghetti or in the morning. The recipe is in The Farm cookbook. I cooked it in a big handle-less pan in 5 cups of water in my large pressure cooker for half an hour, then scooped out balls/patties of it to fry up on both sides. It makes a yummy snack or sandwich filling, also.
Tofu is easy to make using the soymilk maker, but you have to have the time to run four batches before you can get enough to make a big block. It tastes very fresh, but I am not sure this will end up being my preferred use of the machine. Just having the soymilk is good enough for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews  

 Previous | 1 2 6| Next
    
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great Soymilk Machine, December 14, 2010
By
Larry M. Tedrow (Dhahran Saudi Arabia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Soyapower Plus soy milk maker, rice milk maker, nut milk maker
This is a great soymilk machine, it is quick, easy to use and very easy to clean, which is a nice plus. My wife and I have had several Soymilk machines prior to this one and cleaning was always a chore, with this one it is no problem at all. It makes great soymilk too, very happy with machine and have recommended to several of our friends who enjoy soymilk. Three of them have already purchased it and are also very satisified with the machine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Report abuse | Permalink
Comment Comment


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars See Grace's video review, November 13, 2010
By
W. Dong "Wendy" (TN, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Soyapower Plus soy milk maker, rice milk maker, nut milk maker
Click to watch this video
Click to watch this video
Length:: 3:26 Mins

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Report abuse | Permalink
Comment Comment (1)


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars soy milk maker, October 25, 2010
By
Chris Fischer "gatormanfischer" (Gainesville, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Soyapower Plus soy milk maker, rice milk maker, nut milk maker
This is a great machine. I have made soy milk several times and it is great. Easy to clean up. I am happy with the purchase and now will never buy store soy milk again. Never had a problem with metalic taste, I did wash it well before using
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Report abuse | Permalink
Comment Comment


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars Good soymilk maker, October 23, 2010
By
RY Construction "tool monkey" (Tennessee) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Soyapower Plus soy milk maker, rice milk maker, nut milk maker
It was packaged very nicely and easy to unpack, without any big mess of Styrofoam.
The packaging was so nice that I kept it for further use.
The appliance came with everything needed to use it; a pitcher and size matched stainless steel sieve, a little measuring cup for the beans, even a scrubby pad and a brush, and a nice recipe book.
The user instructions were obviously not written by a native speaker of English, but they are easy to understand and follow and entertaining too.
The soy-milk maker is very easy to use and clean and makes very nice soy-milk without any hassle at all.
I have not tried out it's other functions and only time will tell how long it will last in service.
So far I am very pleased with this product and I hope that it will last many years, because I much prefer the homemade soy-milk over the store bought.
I would highly recommend this product to anyone wanting a hassle free home scale soy-milk maker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Report abuse | Permalink
Comment Comment


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars Quick and easy, October 19, 2010
By
T. Huang "Dr Who" (Chicago, United States) - See all my reviews
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Soyapower Plus soy milk maker, rice milk maker, nut milk maker
I bought this as a gift for my sister and her two young kids. I looked around many places trying to find a good deal and the easiest machine to clean, this seems to be the right one. My sister used it once and liked the simple process. The soymilk came quick and tasty. However, her kids don't want to drink it when it's cold because the soybean smell is much more noticeble when the soymilk is colder. Of course, you might want to add sugar so kids will enjoy it more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Report abuse | Permalink
Comment Comment (1)


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
4.0 out of 5 stars I have fresh Soy Milk daily now, October 10, 2010
By
John Wuu - See all my reviews
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Soyapower Plus soy milk maker, rice milk maker, nut milk maker
Pretty straight forward producing fresh soy milk. It does the job right. Cost of soybean to produce daily soy milk is low. Hope it last long enough to show the real value.

Cleaning takes 3 to 4 minutes, if it is ok with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Report abuse | Permalink
Comment Comment


5.0 out of 5 stars good soy milk maker, October 5, 2010
By
jorge - See all my reviews
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Soyapower Plus soy milk maker, rice milk maker, nut milk maker
soyapower plus is an excellent soy milk maker. i have been using it everyday so far and haven't had any problems. i would recommand this machine to anyone who likes soy milk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Report abuse | Permalink
Comment Comment


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars SoyaPower Plus, October 2, 2010
By
mom - See all my reviews
This review is from: Soyapower Plus soy milk maker, rice milk maker, nut milk maker
This is the best Machine EVER. it is so easy to use. And cleaning it is so simple and fast. I have their other SoyaPower and this is even superior. It is so great I ordered two and gave one as a gift. The milk turns out fantastic and has a wonderful flavor and taste Your milk is only going to be as good as the beans or nuts you use. So perhaps the person who said that the milk tasted funny beans were not good, But i can tell you it is not the Machine. I use mine every other day and no problems.
This is a great Soymilk Maker and if you don't have one buy the SoyaPowerPlus NOW, you'll never regret it. I make all the other milks too, rice, almond and they are just as good. This machine does a fine job. I would not be with out it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Report abuse | Permalink
Comment Comment


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the money, October 2, 2010
By
chzheadgrl (PA) - See all my reviews
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Soyapower Plus soy milk maker, rice milk maker, nut milk maker
Once you find a good recipe, you'll only slightly be able to tell the difference than store bought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Report abuse | Permalink
Comment Comment


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful:
4.0 out of 5 stars Makes Great Soymilk - Quickly & Easily, September 20, 2010
By
Mary Anna Singer (Crescent City, FL United States) - See all my reviews
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Soyapower Plus soy milk maker, rice milk maker, nut milk maker
I've been using this every couple of days since I got it. It's not beautiful or elegant, but it is quite functional -- VERY easy to use & makes soymilk quickly, which is what I want from it.

The soymilk is delicious & I prefer the full-flavored organic beans that I buy in bulk to make tempeh over the "less-beany" sample that comes with the machine. But that is a matter of taste. Our preference is to add 1/2 to 1 full teaspoon of vanilla, 1 tablespoon of agave syrup and a generous pinch of cardamom to the hot milk. It tastes even better the next day.

Clean up is fairly quick & easy; although I can see that if you aren't thorough after each use, you could end up with somewhat of a mess as soy can be as stubborn as egg yolk after it dries.

I was pleased with the little accessory package that was included. The strainer & pitcher may not be "top-of-the-line" but they do work quite well for their intended purpose. The strainer fits the top of the pitcher precisely and filters out most of the sediment. We made okara burgers for the first time, using the enclosed recipe book and they were very tasty. I'm really looking forward to making tofu and oncom soon.

Economy is the main reason I made this purchase -- we go through 2-4 quarts of soymilk per week and buying organic soymilk is quite expensive, as well as being less eco-friendly with all the packaging. This purchase will pay for itself in a few months, just for soymilk, not to mention tofu and okara uses.

My one complaint is the inability to make "raw" milks, e.g., almond, sunflower, etc., due to the lack of controls to eliminate or reduce the heating portion of the process.

If you use soy on a regular basis, I urge you to go organic and whole-food or home-processed, as many commercial soy products involve the use of hexane, which is a neurotoxin (visit [...] or google "soy hexane" and research it for yourself). The SoyaPower Plus is a wonderful tool to help you control what's in your soy foods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Report abuse | Permalink
Comment Comment (1)

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars love it!!, May 23, 2011
By chunxia - See all my reviewsAmazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Soyapower Plus soy milk maker, rice milk maker, nut milk maker
It is a great pleasure to write a review for the Soyapower Plus soy milker maker.

Before I bought it, I did a lot of research to make the decision. I am very glad that I did the right thing for my whole family.

It Is So Easy. Just soak the soy bean overnight, next morning wash it and add water as instructed, ~20 minunits later, You have fresh, hot, healthy soy milk!!

There were several low rate reviews about it. I learned from others that you have to follow the manual to avoid those damage or bad taste output.

First, Please Do wash the soaked soybean several times before you put into the machine. The overnight soaked water might not give you a satisfied favor.

Second, the soybean you used is important. Think about it, the raw material is the basic of your result. The machine is just a machine, it is not a miracle maker. The key is to buy the organic soy bean from local store.

The last but not the least important thing is Never,Ever put the machine head under the water. It is the electric part of the machine. If you do this frequently, please do not surprise that your soy milker maker refused to work later. You kill it because you do not follow the direction.




Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Report abuse | Permalink
Comment Comment



1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars soy milk maker, May 18, 2011
By bets - See all my reviewsAmazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Soyapower Plus soy milk maker, rice milk maker, nut milk maker
I have medical reasons to no longer eat or drink foods with preservatives or additives in them. I love soy milk but hated the long messy process I went through to make my own, so when I decided to purchase a soy milk maker I did a lot of research first and the one I kept coming back to was this one. I use it at least 3 or 4 times a week & it taste so much better than store bought soy milk without any additives added to it!! Since I use the milk for fruit smoothies I use it plain without adding sweeteners or flavoring to it but it does come with a little book with recipes for different foods and flavorings. An added bonus for me is I use the Okra (left over bean pulp) for cooking banana bread.

All I do to make it is to soak some beans overnight (I soak mine in the refrigerator, it taste better), rinse the beans, add water to the pitcher, put in the beans and plug in. It is so easy to do!! The only drawbacks I have found is when you strain it there is a bit of sediment left over from the beans which is easy to fix just by putting a layer or two of cheese cloth in the strainer and it helps to filter out even more. The second one is just remembering to soak the beans!

Personally, for the money, you just cannot beat this product!! It makes the milk quickly, quietly and cheaply!! Well worth the investment!! You are in control of what you put in your body so goodbye to chemicals, additives and preservatives!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Report abuse | Permalink
Comment Comment



1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
3.0 out of 5 stars great product, May 11, 2011
By allan - See all my reviewsAmazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Soyapower Plus soy milk maker, rice milk maker, nut milk maker
At first, I had difficulty using this product since the working voltage 110V or 220V is not posted in the product info. I purchased this in the US and was used in the Philippines. I thought this has an auto voltage so I plugged it in the 220V. I got burned transformer. luckily, I repaired it and had it work.

Been using this product since and I'm amazed on how it makes soya milk for me.

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Report abuse | Permalink
Comment Comment (1)



2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, May 10, 2011
By kate (DORCHESTER, MA USA) - See all my reviewsAmazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Soyapower Plus soy milk maker, rice milk maker, nut milk maker
I love this machine! Easy to use, very little waste, and the soymilk is pure and healthy and cheap! I'm looking forward to trying almond milk as well. The Laura soybeans are very mild and easy to order, You can't go wrong with this machine. If you heat the water before you put it in, it takes about 15 minutes to get soymilk. It's so mild tasting that I haven't been sweetening it. I do like it made with some brown rice.

The okara (bean pulp) which is left over is delicious added to baked goods or used to make burgers. I also found a great dog biscuit recipe: 3 pts okara, 1 pt flour, 1 pt peanut butter. Score, then bake @ 350 20-30 minutes. Break apart and dehydrate until dry to your liking.

I've also been making tofu with soymilk from this machine and it is really delicious. I highly recommend this machine. Maybe it's not gorgeous, but I just tuck it into the cupboard. Oh! Forgot to mention - it's also pretty easy to clean. Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Report abuse | Permalink
Comment Comment



2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes fabulous soy, rice, or nut milks!!!, May 9, 2011
By Charlyne Cox "loves books" (USA) - See all my reviewsAmazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Soyapower Plus soy milk maker, rice milk maker, nut milk maker
I just made my third batch of milk with the Soyapower Plus Soy Milk Maker. This product is easy to use and to clean. The soy milk is delicious - and I am saving money!

The Soyapower Plus shipped quickly. It makes soy milk, nut milk, rice milk, and it includes many recipes. Even the remaining bits of soy (called Okara) makes a nice little dessert: I mix a bit of margarine and maple syrup in it - yummy! (It's a bit like Cream of Wheat.)

This is an excellent product and I recommend it to everyone! Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Report abuse | Permalink
Comment Comment



1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars soy power, great joy, April 28, 2011
By Dragonspeak "khsdragon" (SoCal) - See all my reviewsAmazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Soyapower Plus soy milk maker, rice milk maker, nut milk maker
Excellent machine, easy to operate, easy to clean, works quick and relatively quietly. I washed the stainless steel parts first before using. I also soaked the beans with a dash of baking soda for 10 hours and rinsed well. I added sugar and vanilla extract for excellent flavor. I also cleaned while the meal was warm and soft.
The first batch was excellent and a good learning experience. Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Report abuse | Permalink
Comment Comment



3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice to have an easy way to make milk again . . ., April 20, 2011
By E. Jahner "E." (Southeast) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)    Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Soyapower Plus soy milk maker, rice milk maker, nut milk maker
We owned a unit with the metal filter that catches all the soy pulp and that was nice, but super pain in the butt to clean all the tiny little holes in the metal cup. After that one died (after about 14 months) we used our steamer/Vitamix blender to make soy milk. That was cheap since we already had the tools but a pain to filter the milk in a cloth bag and basically way to many dishes dirtied just to make milk.

I bought the Soyapower Plus to make it easy again to have milk in the house all the time. Soak the beans then start Soyapower plus and in minutes milk is ready. The notification that the process is done is loud enough to let you know, but not so loud that you could not ignore it if you are in the middle of something. It does not end until you unplug the unit (well, at least 2 minutes because that is the longest I have let it beep at me). Dumping the milk through the screen is easy and rinsing off the screen even easier and we can still use the soy pulp for making pita bread. A great way to add fiber and protein to pita bread.

Overall a great purchase and a great way to make soy milk super cheap at home with little fuss. Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Report abuse | Permalink
Comment Comment



1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
4.0 out of 5 stars Works well but could look more attractive., April 18, 2011
By Sima Bond - See all my reviewsAmazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Soyapower Plus soy milk maker, rice milk maker, nut milk maker
PRO
- quieter than I expected
- easy to clean
- makes great soy milk

CON
It's ugly. All function and no form. The physical design is the product's weakest point by far. Everytime I take it out, I'm a little offended that the minimum of effort didn't go into the looks. It is the color of plastic that has been baking in the sun - a sickly, yellowish color. One buttons on the interface looks like it defaulted to Courier. Each label has a different size font. Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Report abuse | Permalink
Comment Comment



6 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars So far so good, April 17, 2011
By macro mama (California) - See all my reviewsAmazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Soyapower Plus soy milk maker, rice milk maker, nut milk maker
Just made my first batch of homemade rice milk. I used 1/2 cup organic long grain brown rice(not the cup that came with the machine just a standard dry 1/2 cup measure) and 1 tbsp of oat groats. I followed the directions, soaked the grains for 6-8 hours, placed them in the container, filled the water between the fill lines and pushed the rice+ button. The machine did it's thing and in about 20 minutes it beeped. I let it cool down and strained the milk into a glass container. Very little "okara" was left. The consistency was a little too thick so I just added some filtered water. I also added some sea salt and some brown rice syrup to taste and it made quite a bit from just a 1/2 cup. I probably wouldn't add water if I wanted a "creamer" but since I was looking for milk consistency I did this time. For very little effort, I will save money, have fresh rice milk that contains no preservatives and only ingredients that I approve. Another thing I'm really happy about is I won't have all the stupid boxes that are left over from rice/almond/oat milk that you can't recycle, so less waste. As far as the product quality & lasting, I have no idea because I only just made my first batch. I will update if something goes wrong or in a few months if everything still works. Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Report abuse | Permalink
Comment Comment (1)



1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best~~, April 9, 2011
By R. O. Wann (Florida United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)    Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Soyapower Plus soy milk maker, rice milk maker, nut milk maker
I bought this product after reading all of the reviews. I am so pleased with it! The machine is easy to use, it takes 15 min to make, and the clean up takes just a few mins. I really enjoy the almond milk, and soy milk I have made. I soak the beans/almonds over night, make the milk in the morning. I usually make 2 batches and it lasts for approx 4 days before I run out. With my heavy schedule this has been such an easy chore to carry out. Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 

 

Copyright 2001-2004 by Sanlinx Inc. All rights reserved.
Sanlinx Inc., 4755 Fowler Dr., Morristown, TN 37814-7707

Last updated: 12/16/2010

some SoyaJoy soy milk maker pictures
Watch Video

 

Order Now

$95.95

a SoyaPower soy milk maker picture

SoyaPower
The Super Milk Maker
 

Order Now

$99.95

A SoyaPower Plus soy milk maker picture
The Revolutionary
SoyaPower Plus

Super Milk Maker

Order Now
$109.95

Video Clips

About Sanlinx
Place an Order
International Orders
Health Benefits
Product Details
How to Use
Testimonials
Recipes
Why SoyaJoy?
Independent Tests
Refund Policy

Contact us

Other resources:
 

Make Tofu
Tofu Coagulant
Tofu Kits
Buy Soybeans
Distributor Info
Spare Parts 
Soy Milk Nutrition

About Cholesterol

Useful Sites

Donate to save lives in Africa

Get a Free SoyaJoy!

Commercial soy milk and tofu equipment

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Home  Soy+Health Products
Reviews
Ordering
Shipping
Testimonials
Recipes
Contact us